Meet Pete

A picture of a smiling man in a wheelchair

Hi, my name is Pete and I’m a member of the RiDC consumer panel.

I’m 27 years old, a para triathlete, wheelchair basketball and tennis player and coach, and vintage radio enthusiast.

I've have been a full-time wheelchair user for the past eight and a half years. I’ve also survived a battle with sepsis and have had two full-on strokes, but I don’t let any of that stop me and continue to live life to the fullest I can.

I regularly do marathons and triathlons from my wheelchair, mostly for charity, but some for fun, too. I've done nearly 70 marathons at 26.2 mile distance over the last seven years, about the same again in half marathons and just over 20 triathlons. I’ve done loads of sportives as well in my handcycle, including RideLondon 100. Always looking for the next challenge and will soon be taking on London to Paris on my handcycle, as well as John O' Groats to Lands End.

I’m a fully qualified wheelchair basketball coach, too, and play with the Windsor Monarchs. I do a bit of wheelchair tennis as well, and a hot food drop for the homeless once a week.

I’m delighted to be a part of the RiDC consumer panel, the Which? for disabled consumers, helping you choose what’s right for your needs. Being disabled myself, I can relate my own experiences to help you make the right choice.

I try and get as much as I can out of each and every day as I never know how long I’ll be stable for until something happens that puts me back in hospital again.

London Wheelchair Triathlon Club